Camp Writing

Night Ropes Course

I stand petrified in the pitch black night, with the ice cold rope in my freezing hand.
I hear the voice of Cooper encouraging me on.
The world seems motionless as I cautiously move one foot at a time waiting for a parent to jump out and startle me.
I hear the screams of the other terrified kids, and I hope that I’m not next to be startled.
Then I hear a spooky voice that give me the shivers and start to think that’s a bit scary, otherwise not scary at all.
I slowly move on to see a parent in black being silly by rolling on the ground.
I yell, “You can’t scare a Bushett like that. It takes a lot more than a little fright to spook me.”
The day had long since faded and the night terrifies me.
I see nothing but black all around me like a pitch black room
Nervously I move on to witness what will be another alarming fright.
The rope slowly feels like it will vanish in my hands.
I have to go on I say to myself, even though it am awfully afraid.
One by one, the parents try to scare me but I laugh at them all, mainly the guy covered in grass but it was only a costume.
As I walk out of the course with a smile on my face, I start to think it was so worth it.
The course was terrifyingly magnificent. I loved it so much I want to do it again some day.

Caitlin Bushett

Lake Kiriopukae

I glimpse around the beautiful breath-taking lake and view,
the rocks reflecting off the shimmering water.
The long grass tickles my legs as I walk closer to the denim blue lake.
The dark sand flies take ferocious bites on my legs while I try to smack them away.
The white mist flies through the high sky.
I look into the light grey sky and look at the architecture of the snow white clouds.
The wind blasts at me and I get a arctic feeling up my back.
We stroll silently to Michael Noonan’s grave.
I touch it and get a cold tickle down my boney spine.
We stroll back to the amazing lake, I look upside down and the reflection looks like I’m looking normally, but I’m not.
The sun tries to escape the grey clouds.
The dripping rain strikes me and makes me chilly like an animal that lives in the freezing snow.
The muddy lake is flooded onto the fern grass.
I notice how silent it really is and say in my head, “There is no place better than this.”
If this place was near home more I would go everyday.

Jaiden Valentine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *